I am My Own Worst Enemy.

There is about 2 1/2 hours until I need to leave my house for roller derby tonight.   I plan on going to both the beginner and intermediate practices – I need the time on skates and to get my body back in the shape it was in before my concussion.

But I am my own worst enemy.

I sabotage myself, frequently.  And then I beat myself up over it.

Tonight’s sabotage?   The justifications in my head as to why I shouldn’t go to roller derby tonight:

1. Michelle isn’t coming with me.   She’s not sure what time she’s going to be there.
2. My kids need me.
3. I have things to be cleaned up
4. It’s an anniversary of two different events – I need to celebrate/mourn them.
5. I’m not all that good anyhow, so really, why try?
6. I need sleep.

None of those are good reasons.

1. Who cares if Michelle isn’t coming?  The company is nice – but I do derby for ME.
2. My kids need the routine and to know its ok for Mom to do things outside the house.
3. There’s always something to clean up.  And I wouldn’t clean anyhow – I’d probably sit on my computer or read a book or watch TV.
4. It’s the anniversary of two different events.  I can celebrate/mourn them by living life.
5. I will only get better if I try and practice and push myself.
6. I’ll sleep better after I’ve exercised.

I’m a little concerned about my cardio.  I seem to have trouble with simple things like going up stairs.  I don’t like being out of breath all the time – but the only way to get the cardio back, is to exercise.

I am my own worst enemy. I am also my greatest supporter, biggest fan, and best motivator.

It’s a matter of perspective and choice.

Skate it Out If it's Important To You Proud of yourself

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Roller Derby, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

