Strange Dichotomy

I got up this morning.  My alarm was set, and I got up and I got ready.   I was not awake though.  I was not enthused about it.

6.30am is dark.  We’re in a bit of a deep freeze so it’s cold.

No, I was *not* enthused about it.

But I was ready to go.   And when Ang showed up, I went.

I layered up.  I have fleece lined tights, yoga pants & derby socks.  Top all that with a sports bra, tank top and two hoodie/sweatshirts.   Put on a toque and I was good to go.

It was cold out.  The best way to get warm is to get moving.   So we did.   By the time we got 1/2 way up Ross Road – we were both out of breath.  Perfect fat burning conditions… slightly out of breath, talking was interesting but we could do it.

We both started warming up… except our asses.  It was cold.  Our asses were freezing.

We had planned a 3km walk.   The problem with that is that it snowed.  Then it froze.  And now we’ve got icy crunchy snow.   So we decided to wander up Ross Road and head to the school and do the track.  And then realized… the track is covered in snow.

Change of plans again.   We walked past the school and headed up the Ray Peters Trail.

There’s snow on the trail.  Did you know that walking in snow is like walking in sand?  It’s difficult and the snow moves under your feet.   It adds to the physicality of the walk.

My hips were not happy with me.

We walked up to the cemetery and cut off part of the trail by walking through the old road to connect with Squamish Valley Road.

Did you know that they don’t plow unused roads?  And that the road was covered in snow?

Yeah.   So about 2/3 of the walk was over snow covered surfaces.

We walked approximately 5.5kms overall.   Approximately 3.7 of those were through the snow.

I didn’t run today.  But I did 5.5kms of hard walking.  And its the beginning.

Dream Possible

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Tracking Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strange Dichotomy

  1. Beginnings are vital. I am planning to walk/run the half marathon in May. I’ve started training too! Yesterday I ran for the first time in a long time (other than running for the bus!) We start small and grow our strength, endurance and mind set. Good for you!

  2. Pingback: Strange Dichotomy… Redux | Walking a Different Path

Leave a Reply

