Strange Dichotomy… Redux

Did you read this post from this morning??

No?  Go ahead, read it.  I’ll wait….

….

….

Ok, all caught up now?

As blogs and writings are wont to do – I diverged.  It didn’t help that I was trying to finish off the blog because I was heading out to have coffee with a friend.

I had something specific I was blogging about, and it wasn’t the inspirational amazing fact of me having gotten out of bed at that ungodly hour and actually going 5.5kms in the freezing cold.

Do you know what happens when you’re physically active?  You sweat.   And when you sweat, it starts running down your body, it soaks your hair, it generally doesn’t feel nice.

Do you know what happens when you’re physically active in the freezing cold of -5???  You still sweat.

Only now you have ice cold rivulets going down your back and forehead.

It is an extremely strange dichotomy to have my body temperature up and my metabolism going, being totally sweaty yet ice cold.

Very weird to be walking and sweating and having those sweat beads forming little ice chunks on your toque.

Strange dichotomy indeed.

But I did it.  And I will do it again next Saturday.  This coming week involves treadmill, yoga and core work.

That coffee with my friend?  Helped me to refocus where I need to be keeping my attention. Helped me to see how I was distracting myself from things I needed to focus on.

Vancouver Sun Run.  91 days.   And counting.

Go With Courage

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

