True Measures of Success

Numbers don’t lie, but they don’t always tell the truth, either.

According to my scale, I’m 11lbs heavier than I was mid-Dec when I hit a low I haven’t seen in a LONG time…

But… clothes fit me differently.

I had a friend hug me and say “hey, you’re getting smaller, how much weight have you lost?”  And in my head I’m thinking… WTF?  Are you kidding me?  I gained over the holidays!!”

But the truth of the matter is that my body shape is changing, and while I may not be losing weight as per the number on the scale, the weight is redistributing.

Perhaps it’s muscle mass.

Perhaps it’s just that my body has slimmed, even though the fat content is the same.

I don’t know.  And frankly, I don’t care because what it means for me is that I’m a smaller pant size, that clothes that were in my “shrink into” bin fit me, and some of them I shrunk out of without ever getting to wear.

It was a nice feeling, taking 2 big bags of clothes to donation.    I won’t wear them, I can’t wear them again, but someone else will be happy with them 🙂

ScaleThe numbers on this are not what’s important… who I am is.  And THAT is the true measure of success.

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

