Today’s The Day.

I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions.   I don’t believe that you should place importance on changing your life on just one day.

I had decided last night that today would be the day I make changes.   I have plans for a New Year’s party – but there’s no reason I should have to worry about that day since I’m aware and planning for it.

Today.

I looked back at my blog – I haven’t written anything since Dec 17.  I’ve been caught up in grief.  Loss.  Sadness.  Christmas.  6 months.  Depression.

Once upon a time, I managed my depression with exercise & diet.   I ate healthy, exercised on a regular basis and was able to go off my meds.   Granted, the cause of my depression then was not nearly as life changing, earth shattering, devastating as the cause of *this* depression… so it will take a bit longer, I expect.   But I have no doubt, no reason not to expect that I will be back there again.

Grief is natural.  Sadness is natural.  Depression is not.   And I know I can manage the depression by making changes – and todays’ the day.

I’m going to do the 30 days of yoga, as well as work out a plan for changing my life & body.  I’ll probably use Body for Life because it’s a simple plan I can follow without reinventing the wheel.  Except I like my HIIT workouts and I have this fabulous workout designed for me by a wonderful derby lady.   Maybe I’ll take some time to figure those out LOL  I really really really like those workouts – and I really want to see dramatic changes (in my cardio level LOL) by my birthday.

Derby starts up again in 2 weeks.   I need to feel somewhat together and in derby shape.   I’m a little frightened for the first time back on skates – and if I’ll be able to keep up to the wonderful ladies who I haven’t skated with in  6 months :p

What it all comes down to is that changes need to happen, and they’re going to happen as of right now.  I’m having today’s cup of coffee, and then tackling my house and making space to do yoga this morning.

I’ve said in the past… I’ll start tomorrow.  I’ll start tomorrow.

Going back, looking at texts from my husband from just before he got sick, he was talking about getting healthy, losing weight, being “serious this time” and really doing it.

He saw a doctor on January 13 (Friday) about getting healthy, and getting a referral for the hydrotherapy sessions at the pool.   He wasn’t feeling well on January 16 – nauseated.    He was in the hospital on January 19.

He didn’t get a chance to get healthy.  He didn’t get the chance to lose the weight.  He didn’t get the chance to change his life.

Sometimes, tomorrow never comes.

I’m starting today.

It's Too Late

 

If it's Important To You

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Exercise, Roller Derby, Weight Loss, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

