Ice Skating? Nope…

I figured, in all my wonderous glory and confidence of being able to roller skate, that I’d be able to don ice skates and go out there and skate.

I figured, after not being on ice skates for 20+ years, that I’d be able to just get out there and go.   That I’d be doing crossovers, and while I still didn’t think I’d be able to stop, I’d be much more graceful than I would have been had I not been roller skating for the past 2 years.

I figured wrong.

I couldn’t skate.

I was terrified.

Horrified.

And I couldn’t stop laughing at me.

I didn’t even make it around the rink once.  Not once.   I got maybe a quarter, possibly a third of the way around… and that was it.  Done.  Finito.  My skating abilities were nil.  Zero.  Zilch. Zip.  Nada.

It didn’t help that the skates I was wearing were incredibly uncomfortable.

It didn’t help that I wasn’t wearing full protective gear and terrified I might fall down.

It didn’t help that my children just hopped on the ice and took off like they’d been doing it all their lives (they haven’t)

I still laughed at me.   It was funny.

I’ll buy myself some ice skates – make sure they fit properly, and go skating with my boys more often.    I’ll get to a point where skating is fun, not terrifying, because I remember it being fun.

And next time… maybe I’ll make it around the rink once.  Possibly even twice.

DSCF4465

 

Me… laughing because I couldn’t skate.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

