Derby Was… ok.

I loved loved loved being on skates again.   Lots of skating last night.  Lots of moving around, getting back into the swing of it, lots of cardio.

We also did some transitioning and skating backwards… it was pretty cool.

I only had a few moments where I had minor panick attacks – the fear of falling right now is pretty high – I don’t want to jar my head too much as per my doctor’s instructions… still have 3 or so weeks left of healing time.

And we did a pain train!!! OMG I love those 😀  They’re sooooo much fun 😀  I forgot how much I like them.   I wish our pain trains had been longer – there were only 3 of us in the trains… LOL

Family Pain Train

And then… lets learn mohawk/tomahawk stops.

Do you KNOW how much I want to be doing those?  Not only do they LOOK cool, but they’re very effective.

I watched Sweetie demo it several times… and decided, there’s too much risk of falling.   For now, I’ll not practice those – they’re not on the test, and there’s lots of time for me to learn them.

So I sat down.  And my headache blossomed… *sigh*

I geared down, knowing that there wasn’t going to be any more skating for me – doctor’s orders – if I have any symptoms… STOP.   So I did.

But I’m so glad I went last night.   Next week is the last one until January.   I’m stoked about January.  I’m stoked to be passing my skillz test and being on the team… finally.

But derby, it still rocks my world.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

