Intolerance & Prejudice

This is what showed up in my Facebook feed this morning:

I think people suffering from obesity related diseases that are a result of poor nutrition and lack of exercise should be required to complete a nutrition and fitness program before receiving any medications and sick leave subsidies from the government. I’d rather my tax dollars funded a program where they were given a gym membership with mandatory attendance and had to submit daily stool samples to prove they were eating a nutritional diet, than to know an obese man on medical sick leave is out there eating mcdonald’s double bacon cheeseburgers and gulping down 50 tsp’s of sugar in a beverage that I probably helped pay for because he’s chosen to remain ignorant of his health situation.

And for the first time in a long time – fat-bashing REALLY pissed me off.   Most people I know are relatively acceptant of other people’s choices in life.  Most people.   And there’s very few people in my life who would publicly denounce a ‘fat’ person for being fat, choosing to eat McDonald’s or not exercising.

But that statement above?   Really really pissed me off.

Let’s be clear.  According to the BMI calculator, I am morbidly obese.   I am 5’6″ and I weigh just over 250lbs.   I am NOT at a healthy weight.  I am, however, healthy – aside from mental health issues.   Beyond a knee problem (that was not caused by my weight) I have no physical  health issues.

According to that statement above – I should lose my RIGHT to make choices for myself because I’m morbidly obese and because I am on Long Term Disability.   And you might happen to see me going through McDonald’s drive-thru for lunch.

Because I’m fat the government should control my life?   Really?  Because I’m fat?

How about if I drink too much?  How about if I choose to party every weekend?  What about if I choose to have sex with random strangers each night?   What if I smoke… cigarettes or other?

This is not a matter of “tax dollars” or one lifestyle being “better” than another.  It’s a matter of choice.

And perpetuating the fat-bashing, hate crimes against people who are overweight because they ARE overweight, without finding the reason behind what’s going on, simply perpetuates hate, intolerance and bigotry.   It does nothing to support someone who is TRYING to get healthy – because all they hear and see is the intolerance directed at them because they’re eating McDonald’s that day.

All those lovely obesity-related diseases & conditions happen to people with a healthy body weight as well as those who are overweight.  How are you going to regulate the people with a healthy body weight?

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Intolerance & Prejudice

  1. sarah says:

    There’s a movement towards health at every size. Weight isn’t an indicator of health in an individual. There are plently of people who are naturally thin but who are incredibly unhealthy. On the other hand if you eat when you’re hungry (and what you’re hungry for), move your body joyously and love the skin you’re in you’re far more likely to be healthy whateverthe shape of your body happens to be.

Leave a Reply

