Skating Tonight?

This blog has been quiet for the last week or so because I’ve been concentrating on resting.    Since the fall, I’ve had intermittent persistent headaches and I want this to heal.

Here’s the problem:

I don’t know the cause of the headaches.

It would seem simple, wouldn’t it?   I fell, I hit my head and I’m having lingering concussion symptoms, so therefore, I should take it easy until they subside fully.

BUT!!!

In addition to the fall there are other possible causes of the headaches.

1. I’m on an anti-biotic that has side effects of headaches, dizzyness and nausea (all concussion symptoms)
2. I’ve had some serious emotional moments and I’ve always had a headache when I’ve cried that hard.
3. I desperately need to see my massage therapist.  My shoulders and neck are SO tight.

So… where are the headaches coming from?

I can assume that the concussion has healed and that the causes are directly related to one of the other sources.

OR

I can assume they are still concussion related and skip skating tonight.

I think, what I’m going to do, is skate… and pay attention to what my body is telling me.    If after derby I have a renewed headache, I’ll listen to my body and refrain from anything too strenuous for another week.

But if it doesn’t cause me any issues, I’ll assume that the headaches are from other sources… and enjoy skating again.

I was talking to a friend who broke her ankle when skating.  She fell wrong trying to get into a knee drop and her ankle broke so badly that even 4 months later, she’s still limping and not back on skates.

She’s scared.   She’s scared of falling and breaking something again.

I realized – I’m not. I’m not scared to fall (although I won’t be attempting a spin again anytime soon!! LOL)  and I’m anxious to get out there and get better, faster, stronger.

If I’m not falling – I’m not getting out of my comfort zone.   I want to get out there and SKATE!!!

I’ll see how I feel after Science World with boys who don’t necessarily want to be there 😛

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skating Tonight?

  1. Rose Chimera says:

    So…go skate!!! Maybe a little carefully at first though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

