Raw Meat Take 2.

My quest to complete skillz testing led me to Raw Meat again tonight.  The weather has not co-operated and outside skating has not been an option…  so off to Raw Meat we went.

I took Michelle with me.   She’s keen to get as much skate time in as possible as well 🙂

We get there, 20 minutes early, tape up our knee pads, and gear up in time to skate.

I get skating.  Within 5 minutes of being on skates… my brain is yelling at me “WTF ARE YOU DOING!!! GO HOME GO HOME!!!”

Yeah – the same brain that desperately wants to skate was doing it’s level best to get me OUT of there.

I didn’t leave.  It’s probably a good thing Michelle was with me, because I might have left had I been alone.   I can justify anything to myself (even an hour drive in to Raw Meat to turn around and come back) so knowing I had to stay there for Michelle was a good incentive to stay.

ZOMG I’m glad I did.  I’m glad I stuck it out.  My body hadn’t done any exercise in a bit, so it was protesting the physicality.  But.  I really enjoyed going through the exercises.

The floor there is sticky, and we have to tape up our pads, so when you do a knee fall – if you do it wrong, you very ungracefully flop on the floor face first.    I spent a *lot* of time practising how to fall without flopping face first.   Single knee, double knee – it CAN be done gracefully and without any pressure on the knees whatsoever.

And then we get to plow stops.   Yeah.  Whatever.  I’ve passed plow stops a number of times.   Practice is practice though so lets do it.

And then she took us through syncronized plow stopping.   Sounded silly, but it was using a technique I didn’t normally use – so it was good practice.   In short order – I was stopping faster than before.

Then she changed it up.

Hops.

Wait, what?

Hops.

Have I ever mentioned I hate hops?  I hate jumping on skates?  I feel stupidly clutzy and clumsy and like I’m going to fall on my rear end?

Yeah, hops.

And she taught us to do it in a way its NEVER been explained to me before.

OMG what a difference!!!  I can jump with CONFIDENCE now.    So now, instead of being scared, I am confident of my ability to jump over that stupid cone 🙂  I can’t wait to show Danielle 🙂

Then she has us line up.   We’re going to do 180 degree jumps.

Say that again?

We’re going to do WHAT???

180 degree jumps.

In place.  Then rolling.

I’m sitting on a bench, incredulous.   Immediately, that thought process came through “NO FRIGGEN WAY!! I’m not even going to TRY it!!”   And then I stomped that thought down like it was a spider trying to crawl up my leg.

I got up when it was my turn.   I got into position.  And I jumped.

Not only that – I almost did a complete 180 degree turn.

Yep, you read that right.  Me.  Jumped in the air.  On skates.  And turned around.

HOLEEE CRAP!!

And then we started rolling.  And I did it again.  Jumped.  On skates.  WHILE ROLLING.  And turned around.

(pssst.  Michelle jumped too.  I’m so freaking proud of her I want to burst!!)

It’s been a LONG time since I felt so awesome about my ability to learn something new.

Why didn’t I go to Raw Meat before now??? Seriously???

I was floating on air on the way home.  Almost manic.  It was freaking AWESOME how good I felt (and feel!!!) about myself.

I cant. freaking. wait.  for the boot camp next weekend.

 

This amazing young lady is one of the fresh meat I’m currently in training with.  Photo by Carin Smolinski.

Tonight was awesome.   Did I mention that?  Fan-freaking-tastic!

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raw Meat Take 2.

  1. Pingback: Good Day Today « Walking the Widow's Path

  2. Bea says:

    Jane, your joy in derby comes through full force in your postings. Keep at it! I’m SO looking forward to the post that says you’ve passed skillz.

Leave a Reply

