24 1/4

That’s how many laps I got last night in derby.

24 1/4 in 5 minutes.

I was watching my time.  I only wanted to know every 5 laps where I was at.

At the minute mark, I was at 5 1/4 laps.

At the 2 minute mark, I was at 10 1/4 laps.

At the 3 minute mark, I was at  14 1/2 laps.

At the 4 minute mark I was at 19 1/2 laps.

At the 5 minute mark, I had gone 24 1/4 laps.

My partner counting me said she could see when I got tired.  She could see WHEN the cramp in my ass hit – somewhere around the 18 lap point.

So I need to get that muscle stronger, harder, stretched more.

I did better last night than I’ve ever done.  My crossovers were smoother, my pace was decent.  I felt strong…

Right up until the cramp in my ass.

But do you know what this means?

Come testing time – I’ve got it.  I  KNOW I can do it.  I’m not afraid of it anymore.  It will HAPPEN for me.

I will be playing next bouting season.

WOOT!!

Yanno… when I look at this picture… I think I’ve changed shape since then.  I should get someone to take a picture of me skating and see how I look now.

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

