Zumba!!!

Remember those formative dance years? When your friends taught you rhythm and dancing?

My friend was a stripper.

Do you know what that does to your ability to go bar hopping and dance?   It does 2 things:

1. Your ability to pick up guys increases enormously because you dance with BLATANT sexuality.
2. Other women do NOT like you.

So I don’t dance.  My rhythm automatically screams “5 INCH HEELS!!  STRIPPER STRUT!!!’  And I just don’t dance.

Tonight, our roller derby cross training involved Zumba.

Jennifer, the lovely lovely instructor says: “It’s not DANCE, its FITNESS!!”

Ok Jennifer.   But I see the framed certificate on the wall that says “DANCE INSTRUCTOR”

And you’re teaching me several dance moves.

I have to admit – I quite liked it.   As long as I didn’t look in the mirror, I could convince myself that my ass was moving like Jennifer’s.   It certainly FELT like I was shaking it in the same manner…

It was fun.  I liked it.  My knee didn’t, but I did.   I may even go back.

For the moment though… my hips, my thighs, my knees… all are reminding me that it really WAS a fitness class.  And that while we were doing dance moves… there’s a REASON dancers are so fit.

I wonder if my ass would look like that if I kept it up?

Image taken from here.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

