Raw Meat

I’m sure I’ve been talking about this for a while.  I’ve been wanting to go for a long time.  Something seems to always come up…

Today was a girls’ day.  We went shopping, we bought gear.  We went to Raw Meat.  We went for amazing Chinese food for dinner.

I was, hands down, the best day I’ve had this year.  Well, since January 19, that is.

So Raw Meat.

Tonight, there was EightMean Wheeler as one of the coaches.

I didn’t catch the name of the other coaches… dammit – I wanted to add them on facecrack.

But EightMean Wheeler… lovely lady who played on Team Canada.    The team that came in 2nd in the World Championships.

She. was coaching.  ME!  She pushed me to make my plough stops harder and faster and lower.

She encouraged me to get deeper, change my stride and get lower.

Oh and get lower still.

And I was “doing good.”

Ok, so one of the people you look up to… says you’re doing good… it pushes me to do better, get lower, try harder, and get lower still.

And my plough stops got better.

And I have a new appreciation for how to do crossovers… something I can practice at home without having to skate 🙂

It was freaking AWESOME!!

I want to go back.  Every. Single. Week.

I’m so excited for practice tomorrow night.  I’m so excited to build on the skills I was learning tonight.

It’s been a long time since I’ve had as good a day as today.

And the best part of the day?

I got rainbow ruffle booty shorts!!!!!

 

Watch for my rainbow ruffle butt at a practice near you :p

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raw Meat

  1. Jenny says:

    I look forward to meeting you at Raw Meat one day! 🙂 I love meeting people who are as excited to learn and progress in skating as much as I am! I’m still an eager beaver when it comes to derby and I have no shame about it! What was the exercise eight mean taught you, to practice for crossovers? I would love to learn it too!

Leave a Reply

