Wheat Free

I’ve been reading this book lately called “Wheat Belly” by William Davis, MD.  I’ve also been talking to a number of people who have gluten sensitivities.   One of my friends refers to herself as “glu-tarded;”  she gets sleepy and lethargic after consuming something with gluten in it.

I’m not saying I have gluten sensitivities.  I’m not saying that Dr. Davis is correct in his book (in fact, in searching for a link to the book I found this blog that was a rather interesting read on the studies that Dr. Davis cites in his book.   I’m not saying anything other than I eat too much bread/wheat products.

Bread is cheap, if you know where to buy it.  And I know where to buy it.  And if I’m hungry?   Toast & jam.  Toast & peanut butter.  Toast and peanut butter and jam.  Toast and honey.  Toast and cinnamon sugar.

If I’m craving something?  Cookies.  Cupcakes.  Muffins.  Sweet breads.

There’s very little nutritional value in these things.   There might be in the toast – but not in most of the stuff I put on it.  Before you get all “peanut butter is good for you!” on me… go look at the ingredients.  There’s sugar in peanut butter.  There’s hydrogenated oil in peanut butter (trans fats!)  In fact, the only brand of peanut butter that I am willing to buy (despite the trans fats) is No Name brand – its got peanuts, hydrogenated oil and salt as its ingredients.   Its healthy-ish.

At any rate.  I don’t think that wheat or wheat flour is necessarily the issue.  It’s all the things that go along with it.

Let’s look, for a minute, at pie crust.   Who doesn’t love a flaky, light pie crust?  (apparently one of my friends but that’s another blog post LOL) Pie crust ingredients are:  flour, butter, salt and water.    Flour and water make glue.   That stuff STICKS things together :p  You can make paper mache out of it!! :p

Not the best choice.

So for me, for a while, I’m going to eliminate wheat from my diet… only to see how it affects me.  I want to see how it changes my eating, and how my body feels after, say… 3 days of no wheat products.

Today’s breakfast was a bowl of oatmeal with smashed banana.   I had another banana for a snack.  And lunch will be tuna salad on a romaine lettuce leaf.   I’m not quite sure how I’ll get around dinner – it’s supposed to be hot dogs and chips with cake for dessert… but I’ll figure something out before then.

So for 3 days.  Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  I’ll report back on Monday how this experiment went.

 

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wheat Free

  1. bbrown426 says:

    Can’t wait to hear what you think. I have also heard some people talking about this and recently got the book on my Kobo.

  2. Sharon says:

    Totally agree. I know for a fact that some food sensitivities can be CAUSED by eating too much of a certain food. It’s no wonder that so many people are going gluten free. Let’s face it, we just eat way too much. I recently visited the Smithsonian and saw up close some uniforms from the 18th century. One in particular, was displayed with a portrait of the soldier in the exact uniform. The portrait made the gentleman look very large(pot belly and all), but his uniform would likely be consider a man’s medium – the thing was really quite small. So if most men weren’t anywhere near as heavy as this man, it would mean most men would fit into XS and S, not L, XL & XXL as they do today.

  3. Jenny says:

    You should try some Quinoa!!! I love it! ( and Suxy hotrod lives on it) it’s tasty, super filling, can be added to anything or eaten as a gluten- free side ( packed full of nutrients and protein!)

Leave a Reply

