Nothing Like Seeing Yourself on the Interwebz…

UGH.

There’s nothing like seeing yourself on the interwebz, on a “live stream” video and seeing how you *really* look to put things into perspective.

Most women see themselves like this:

 

I don’t.

Even when I’m looking in a mirror, I still see myself as skinny (unless I’m naked, but that’s a different story).

I put on clothes, and I look at myself, especially when I’m not looking in a mirror, and I see someone who is slender, and attractive and whose clothes fit well and are flattering.

Then I see a picture of myself.

Or more recently – myself on the interwebz.

I was volunteering at a bout in Victoria this weekend.  I spent some time in the centre of the track (the entire bout LOL)

I got caught on camera.

I don’t like how I look.

I remember having a conversation with my husband once after a summer vacation and we were looking at pictures and he said “who’s that fat guy… Oh.”   He had the same body image.

I don’t work hard at exercise because my mental image of myself is NOT that of a fat chick!

I see the number on the scale.  I see the sizes on the clothes.  I know the numbers on the measuring tape.

I still put on my clothes and feel like my 18 year old skinny-assed self.

The video though… puts it into good perspective.  I’m not my skinny-assed 18 year old self.  And I need to get my body in good shape for my 38 year old self.   And for my self that is to come in the next 60 years (yes I intend to live to 98 :p )

It’s an odd thing – to *know* I need to lose a significant amount of weight, but not *see* myself as overweight.   There’s a mind-body disconnect there somewhere… 😦

I met someone who has been there, done that.  She has lost weight doing what I want to do.  Doing it without a gimmicky diet, doing it with lifestyle changes and habit changes.   I’m planning on learning from her, and making those changes myself.  She doesn’t LOOK like she had a significant amount to lose… but she did.    Others I’ve met have starved themselves or used one of the paid for diets… or I have friends who follow the latest diet fad.   She’s the first person I’ve met who did it without the gimmick or the “paid for” diet (things like Jenny Craig, Dr. Bernstein) and that is an inspiration for me.

I am inspired.   What inspires you?

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Health, Roller Derby, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nothing Like Seeing Yourself on the Interwebz…

  1. verna chan says:

    Great post! And that’s the best way to do it–lasting lifestyle changes and healthier, more active living. You’re on the right path.

  2. nuttyalternatives says:

    Great post!!!

  3. Jenny says:

    I am motivated by feeling good- being able to go up stairs without huffing, being able to snowboard longer because my thighs are stronger, being able to crawl around on the floor with my son. When I’m not eating well and not exercising, I feel lethargic and heavy. it’s feeling good. Healthy and able bodies so that I can enjoy life that motivates me!

Leave a Reply

