New Derby Season STARTS!!!

Woot!!

The new season started last night with the recruitment of new players.

24 men and women came out to try quad skates, get a couple quick lessons in how to stop and some of the easier falls and then watched the team scrimmage.

 

Photo credit to Carin Smolinski.

That’s me in the middle, just to the left of the girl in the white tee.

Derby recruitment fired up my desire to skate again.   It fired up my desire to be a full fledged member of the *team* and bout.

I’m going through the fresh meat program this year.  Funny thing about that – I never, in the year and a half I’ve been skating, actually took the fresh meat program.

The first fresh meat section – I missed a bunch because my dad died.

The next one, I”d been skating with the vets so just kept skating with them.

Now, having passed everything on my skills test but endurance & acceleration, I’m finally doing it.

I expect I’ll learn a lot from it.  I’m looking forward to it.  I’m also planning on finding other times/ways to skate so that I get a LOT of on skate time.

My goal is to be bout ready for the February 2 Prince George road trip.  I don’t know if I’ll go – but I want to be eligible.

In the meantime – the goal is to lose weight, focus on eating healthy, doing LOTS of cardio, and get my body to it’s best possible shape.

Today, I’m going to take the time to create a plan.  I have a workout plan given to me by one of the refs I’ve played with – and that’s something I will definitely incorporate into my plan, but I want an overall health plan.  My food intake for the week, my exercise plan for the week, my mental health goals for the week.

Today, I will take the time to create a better life for me, and by osmosis, my boys.

And damn but I’m going to get that 25 in 5 by next testing date 🙂

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Roller Derby, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

