Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown

Have you tried this?  It’s a yoga dvd… but instead of moving into each pose and holding it… she moves you into each pose, and keeps you moving for a few reps, then holds it.

The dvd has 2 workouts… level 1 and level 2.  Both are about 30 minutes.  I’ve never looked at or tried level 2.

I remember a while back, maybe about a year ago, when I was working out and trying new things, trying to find the easiest route to fitness and size 10.  (guess what? there’s no easy route!!)

Mark encouraged me, but after the first series of poses, I gave up.   I remember talking to my cousin Candice about it and she was saying how she couldn’t do it either…  I moved on, bought other yoga dvd’s, bought other workout dvd’s but always kept coming back to the thought (not action, just thought) that Jillian Michaels might be a good one for combination cardio/core workout.

I was still looking for the easy route.  I was still looking for the magical button I could push and I would be back to pre-Terrace weight.  Back to my 18 year old, just had a baby weight.   I was looking for the button that would magically enable me to pass the 25 in 5 and other skills to allow me to play roller derby.

There. Is. No. Magic. button.  There is. no. easy. button.

If there was any sort of magic button, I’d bring back Mark with it.

The only option to get to where I want to get, to be healthy in a way that will keep me around for many many many years for my kids, is to eat healthy and exercise. That is the ONLY option.

So this morning, I decided to do Jillian Michaels.  Jillian and I are not friends yet.  We will be.  She will be a good friend of mine… she and I will meet every day for 30 mins or more to whip my butt into shape.

But today I was cursing her.

However, I did the 30 mins.  I had to pause a couple times for a break, but I did it.  I feel better having done it.  I am happy with how I did it.  I pushed myself.  I ached, I wobbled, I was sweaty, and I finished.

I can do it.  I don’t know if its a matter of too little, too late for 25 in 5 on Thursday, but I have time still to do my best.   I have 3 days to work myself as hard as I can, then continue to cross train until I can play with the team… I’m so. freaking. close.

In the meantime… I have another date with Jillian tomorrow morning.  Before I take the kids to the PNE.  She and I are going to become good friends.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Jillian Michaels, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown

  1. I admire your commitment to self love, to family and to commitment. No one said it would all be captured in a day, but I admire your dedication to try and keep on trying 🙂

Leave a Reply

