Run Away from Problems

Run away from stress.

Run away from anxiety.

Run away from depression.

Run away from sadness.

Run away from reality.

The thing is, running away from all those?  You’re still there.  The thoughts are still there. The reality is still there.

But I did it anyhow this morning.

I ran away from the anxiety that was threatening to consume me.  I ran away from the ovewhelming sadness that was starting to take over.

I ran away.  More accurately, I ran.

I got out of my jammies, put on my workout clothes, my socks & my runners, grabbed a bottle of water and went downstairs… and ran.

15 minutes on my treadmill.

Ok, lets get real – I don’t run yet.  I walk fast. Speed of 3.5mph.  Technically that’s a *brisk* walk.  But I also had an average incline of 4%.

Made for a lot of sweat.  And some good endorphins.  And hips that protested.  And lungs that protested initially but were feeling good by the time I hit 10 minutes.

I’d really like to get to a point of “in shape” where my lungs and hips and back have the same *hurt* level – not at different times LOL

So by the end of my 15 minutes of “running away” from my anxiety, I feel ok.  Not great, but good.  Willing to face the world.  Willing to face the day.

I ran.  I pushed myself.  I’ll do it again later during derby practice.

I highly recommend this method of running away from problems.

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Depression, Exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run Away from Problems

  1. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    Good on you! Your continued efforts to move forward are helping me to walk forward too! M

Leave a Reply

