DERBY!!!! SKATING!!! FALLING!!!

New rules for those of us who haven’t passed skillz testing.   Thursdays is free skate, we get about 1/4 of the space to practice and work on whatever we want.  In addition, we get to have the entire space for working on our speed/endurance stuff for the first 1/2 hour.

On Tuesdays, we have an hour of skate time in the entire space, and we’re led in drills that allow us to work on what we need to.

Tonight, free skate, I got to practice some hip checks, do some endurance, some hopping and a LOT of crossovers.

It felt so good to be on skates again.  I was tired, I was happy, I was sore, and I was so excited to be on skates again.

I practised mohawks.  I practised skating backwards.  I did more crossovers.

And then I did crossovers in the reverse direction.

Yeah.  You heard me.  Crossovers in reverse.  Fuck yeah!   That rocked, realizing that I’ve become comfortable enough on my skates to do the crossovers left over right.   Not consistently.  Not as easily as right over left, but I did them!!

Tonight was victory.  Tonight was about success.  Tonight was about pushing past the depression and the isms and the anxiety and fucking SHOWING UP.

I will never get better if I don’t go.  I will not pass my skills test if I don’t practice.  And I will never be mentally stable if I don’t do the things that help me stay that way.   Derby is one of them.

Albert Einstein said:  “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results”

I’ve done that for a long time… the same thing over and over and over, but expecting different results each time.

Tonight – I did it differently.  And I got different results.

And in case you’re wondering?   The “Falling!!!” part of the title?   Twice tonight.  Fell on my ass twice.  Once while attempting a hop… landed on my butt, mostly on the right cheek; managed to wind myself slightly.   The other time while attempting to show another skater a 180 degree slide.   I overshot and landed on my right hip.

And I still got up and skated again.   Because getting scared over bruises is a sure way to never play derby.   I can fall.  I can get hurt.  I can get up and go again.

Doing different things.  Going to get different results.

I’m so high on endorphins right now… I’m loving it.  Kinda wish I had company :p

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Depression, Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

