One Month

So the time frame has been given.   One month (or so) and skillz testing will happen again.  One month to get benchmarked so that I can play derby.

I’m up for the challenge.  Today, in a house that’s not my own, with my kids sleeping and my plans for the day involving some swimming and nothing to do with my husband’s death, I am up for the challenge.

I know that a lot of my challenges with my skillz testing have to do with endurance.  Endurance/cardio and core strength.

So for the next month, that will be my focus outside of practice.  Practices will be focussing on my derby-specific skills, but outside practice, I will be doing cross training to increase my cardio, and strengthen my core.

I follow this blog.  Today she posted about 200 squats.  I thought – hey!  I can do this!  PERFECT for derby.  PERFECT for getting good derby stance!!

So I decided to do it with her.  Its a 3 X per week program, and I can handle this.   I did my initial test.

100 squats.

WTF?  Really?   I love derby.  Derby rocks.  That’s what it’s given me – is the ability to do 100 squats.

I’ll still follow the program – it’ll be good for me and a good addition to my training program.   But I surprised myself with how many I could do… and it was my BACK that gave out before my legs did.   Again, it comes back to core strength.  So I’m going to look into the 200 situps and 100 pushups program that the site has to offer as well.

I’m excited to pass my skillz test FINALLY.  This year has sucked monster donkey balls.  And I’m ready to make it better.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Month

  1. peonut says:

    Whoot! A hundred squats? You go girl!

    Here’s to no more monster donkey balls!

Leave a Reply

