I Have A Problem

I don’t like to track things.

You see, if I track things (what I eat, how much water I drink, what I spend, how much exercise I do) it becomes REAL.

I’m left with no illusions, no delusions and nothing but the stark reality of … what I did (or didn’t) do.

Think about it for a moment…

That chocolate bar?   Gone and forgotten if I’m not tracking it.

That walk I was supposed to take?  Out of mind if I don’t keep notes as to how much exercise I’m getting (or not)

The $60 I spent at the bar last night?   Well, it doesn’t matter because I’m not recording what I spend.

I remember watching The Biggest Loser once and hearing an expert tell a contestant that they were sure he’d win – until the expert found out he wasn’t counting calories.  In my head I thought… “BULLSHIT”  After all, I was doing SOOOOOOOO well without tracking anything, right? :p

We all know how well that turned out.

262.5 lbs as of today.   If I were to hunt down all my old posts, you’d see that I probably lost about 10-15lbs.  Not much, really.

And before y’all get on my case about the last 6 months, yes I KNOW that the last 6 months don’t count.  Life sucked. Life sucked HUGE donkey balls.

But look further back.  It’s the previous year.

Not much has changed.  The only constant is that I’m still trying.

So back to loseit.com.  Back to bodyrock.tv.  Today I get the treadmill unearthed (my kid moved in, stacked his shit all over the family room) so I can go for a walk/run.

I know I need 3 things fitness wise:

1. Flexibility.  I need to be more flexible to protect my joints.
2. Core Strength.  Running around after the refs last night for 2 bouts – my back HURTS.  I need to be able to walk/run around for 2 hours without it causing me enormous amounts of pain that lasts until the next day.
3. Endurance/Cardio.  OMG this is so important. I want want want to play.  Or ref.  Or both. I want to be a part of derby as more than an NSO (although I quite enjoy that too)

The plan:

1. Yoga once a day.   I have several amazing yoga dvd’s.   Yoga is fun, I feel better after yoga.  Time to do yoga.
2. Family walk/bike ride every day. If the weather is not co-operating, then we can do kinect video games.  I can also do treadmill work.
3. Bodyrock.tv or getderbyfit.com or some other form of HIIT every day.
4. Core exercises every day.  There is no reason, absolutely NONE, why I can’t be doing core/ab exercises while watching tv. None.  I have no one to snuggle up to after the boys are in bed, so there’s no reason why I can’t turn my lonliness into productive time.

I’m usually awake by 7 or 8.   In bed, attempting to sleep by midnight or 1am.  That leaves 16 hours of the day.  Taking 2 or 3 of them to get healthy?  Seems reasonable.

This is my starting point again.  Almost 4 weeks after he died… I’m going to try to live well and live healthy and live a long long time for my kids.

Happy Sunday 🙂  I’m taking my kids to the 4 Lakes Trail today… if the rain holds off :p

 

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in BodyRock.tv, Exercise, Family Fun, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

