Ready to Go…

The room that is.  I recently picked up a treadmill that has an upper weight limit of 300lbs.   This is good – because the elliptical I have has an upper weight limit of 250lbs and I didn’t want to break it.

I’m still above 250lbs.  Hovering around 260, actually.  (Damn this stress- why couldn’t I lose weight from not eating – oh wait, people won’t let me not eat)

But I want to cross train.  As I get more ready and able to get back into life, back into derby, back into getting in shape and healthy – I will need to do cross training to increase my endurance and change my body shape.

So we set up the room.  Somewhere on facebook there’s a picture of me in my jammies, my daughter’s boyfriend in dress clothes and another friend helping us force the treadmill into the family room.  That sucker ain’t coming out again.  It’s there for the long haul.

I have the treadmill set up so I can watch tv while I walk or run, and the weight machine set up behind it.   I figure even if I walk for two hours during a movie, I’m still moving more than if I just did nothing.

But there’s a plan in place, in the back of my head, to get me to run a 5 k by the late fall.  And this time I’m going to do it, because I want to change my life.  I want to have the life I should have had with my husband.  I want the life he should have had.  And by getting fit and healthy, and engaging my boys in the process, we’ll have it.

I miss him.  I think one of the ways I’ll honour him is by living my best life possible.  The life we should have had together.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Fitness, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ready to Go…

  1. Bea says:

    Go for it Jane. Goals are good motivators, and when you get there, Wow, do you feel good!

  2. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    Here’s to a 5 k! I’ll walk it with you – here in Calgary of course. But if you have a race and a day, I’ll arrange to walk somewhere – even if it’s on the treadmill at the gym! Thanks for the reminder to LIVE!

Leave a Reply

