I haz SPACE!!!

I have, for a long time, wanted a workout “space.”

I wanted a space where I could do yoga in the morning, do my bodyrock.tv workouts without being afraid of the stuff falling off the walls (our floor has a lot of bounce upstairs), where I could use the weight machine or the eliptical.

A space that, when I wasn’t using it, would be a place where my kids could play video games, where we could sit and watch a family movie, where we could play board games on the floor.

Somewhere my kids could be while I was crafting, with hubby tying his flies at his desk.  Somewhere I could craft while hubby watched a movie after the kids went to bed.  Somewhere we could USE the space, and not have a lot of clutter.

I wanted a family room/workout space.

I have been “almost” there for a long time.  There was parts of this room that were unuseable, either because of the set up, or because of the few piles of clutter left in there that were constant reminders of what I needed to do.

Thanks to our upcoming bout, I now have that space.

Faced with the prospect of strangers coming into my home, of strangers needing to sleep in the family room, I was forced to finish cleaning the space.  If I didn’t, I couldn’t carpet clean, and the dogs had pee’d down there.   It kinda stunk (another reason I didn’t use the space) and I wasn’t bringing people I didn’t know into that space.

Tonight, I cleared the last of the clutter out of the space.   There is a few remaining things there – but the space is now clear, soothing and somewhere I want to work out in.  Somewhere I want to play with my kids in.  Somewhere I want to sit and watch movies in.

I now have the space I wanted.

Don’t get me wrong – there are things I want to do to the room still – there’s some workout posters I want to put up, there’s some family pictures I want to put up. There’s a part of the wall I want to fix and repaint.  And the entrance to the room and the closet under the stairs are still dreadfully cluttered.

But I have my space.  I have a clear place to enjoy family time in.

And my guests will have a clean room to sleep in.

WOOT!  Roller derby!! 🙂

All the work out equipment is pushed to the side because I needed to clean the carpet 🙂  The eliptical will live just in front of the fireplace unless the floor space is needed… 🙂  With the exception of the computer tower sitting there, and the few things on top of it, everything in the room belongs in the room and it’s all in the right spot 🙂

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

