21 Laps!!!

WOOT!

The bane of my derby existence is the 25 in 5.  This is an endurance test that is required as part of the skills to actually PLAY in the bouts.

25 laps in 5 minutes.

I’m working on “having fun” with skating.  I’m working on skating for the enjoyment of it and just enjoying getting out there.

I love skating.  I love to get on my skates and push my body until it’s begging for mercy.  I love how I feel after I’ve had a great workout.

But I hate the 25 in 5.

I AM going to beat it though.

Tonight, with the help of the amazing Sweetie Gonzalez I managed 21 laps.  She was right behind me the whole way, encouraging me, pushing me (not literally), giving me tips and helping me keep going.   It was awesome.   And after the 5 minutes were up, instead of letting me stop and die (cuz I tried) she pulled me back up and helped me do the last 4 laps.

I did 21 laps.  That was 2 more than the last time I counted.  Thanks Sweetie!!

I love the fact that the rec centre does public skating 3 days a week.   I get to get out and have fun with my boys and push myself a little bit.   My boys’ favourite game to play while we skate is the pain train.  I push them around the track several times, they have fun, I get a good workout.

My daughter and her boyfriend came out to skating tonight.  We added them to the pain train.   Sweetie and Kerrly Hurlyburly were there too.  Sweetie took this awesome pic of the kids and I.

Tonight was a blast.

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

