Pain Train!!

For those of you who don’t play roller derby, a pain train is an endurance drill done during practice.  Essentially, coach lines the team up in a “train” where each skater is holding on to the hips of the skater in front of her.   The very back skater then pushes the entire line of skaters around the track twice before skating to the front of the line and allowing the next skater to push the line for two laps.   The skaters not actively skating must hold derby stance.

This is my favourite drill in roller derby.  Not only do you get a power endurance, but then you have to maintain a squat for up to 40 laps depending on the number of skaters in your line.

It’s something I request, because I like it that much (my fellow skaters don’t like it nearly as much LOL)

Last night wasn’t practice night, it was public skate at the local rink.   I love to take my boys there to skate.  They have roller blades, not roller skates, but it is so much fun seeing them get confident on wheels.

Towards the end of the public skate, my boys were getting tired and I wanted to encourage them to spend another 10-15 minutes on the track.

So I introduced them to the pain train.

I can almost hear the thoughts – WHAT!?? You made your kids push you around???

Nope – not this time.  This time was for me.    My boys are not little.  They are 10 and 12 and weigh close to 100lbs each.  I think the 10 year old actually weighs more than 100lbs.

So my fun evening, my family time was an awesome workout for me.  The boys never guessed – I just pushed them around and they thought it was great fun…. but I got 5 laps of hard skating in.

I’m hoping that next practice, we’ll be doing a pain train.   They’re freaking awesome.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family Fun, Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

