Contemplating Atkins

If you’ve read my blog from way back – you’ll know I”m very much anti-“fad diet”

I am against anything that cuts out major food groups.  I am against anything that’s seriously restrictive.   I firmly believe that someone can lose weight by eating healthy and exercising.   And that in the long run, that will be the best option.

I have watched friends do things like the Dukan diet and how ill they looked after.

I have watched friends yo-yo up and down and gain and lose and gain and lose and end up weighing more and having less motivation each day.

And then I talked to a good friend.    At Christmas, she sent me an email via facebook telling me about how she’d lost 65 lbs on Atkins.   We talked, I spouted my usual rhetoric about how nothing that cuts out an entire food group could be good for you, how eating all that saturated fat HAD to be bad for you and basically dismissed it as a long term solution.

See, I like food.

I like a good steak slathered in sauteed mushrooms & onions, heavy on the garlick.
I like nachos smothered in cheese, sausage meat, green onions and salsa with a side of sour cream and avacados or guacamole.
I like corn on the cob with butter, salt and pepper.
I like popcorn with real butter and salt.
I like fresh cherries off the tree, ripe to almost bursting that flood your mouth with flavour when you take a bite.
And I LOVE strawberries and whipped cream on a sponge cake.

Food is good.

And everything is good in moderation.  One or two lindor chocolates will not hurt my weight loss efforts.  The whole damn bag will.

So the idea of doing a weight loss program where I have to give up the things I like, where I have to cut back on those things that give me pleasure, that eliminates a major food group, makes me cringe.

But she’s lost 65 lbs.

Actually – at this time she’s lost more than that – I don’t remember the exact number but it’s significant.

And then there were the health issues.  How can you POSSIBLY stay healthy if you’re eating bacon and eggs regularly?  How can you POSSIBLY stay healthy eating steak frequently?  Won’t that throw your cholesterol and blood pressure completely out of normal ranges?

Apparently not.

In the past year or so (I’m not certain when she started), her cholesterol, blood pressure and all other markers that would indicate she’s eating wrong have gone down.

Wait.  What?

Gone down?

She’s getting HEALTHIER???

Everything that we’ve been taught, everything the media bombards us with tells us this is wrong.  How could she POSSIBLY be getting healthier eating so much of the stuff that we’re supposed to cut out when we want to get healthier?

I don’t know, but it’s working for her.

She works in a doctor’s office – so she pays attention to these things.

So maybe there’s something to be said for Atkins… I’ve gone to the website and it doesn’t look that onerus.  Its simply not a “convenient” way to eat.   Breads and pastries are convenient when you’ve got a serious stress in your life.  But they’re certainly not healthy when eaten in excess.

I’m going to look closer at it though, when my head’s in a good space.   Right now, I’m in survival mode and that doesn’t work well with trying to make major changes in my life.

But I am contemplating Atkins… even just as a kickstart.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Contemplating Atkins

  1. Leanne says:

    The only food group you need to cut is ‘wheat’ lol

  2. Janice says:

    Take a look at “Primal Blueprint” or the Paleo diet – which are very Atkin’s like … but maybe a few less of the restrictions. We’ve done well eating more Paleo. Some weight loss and more energy. I’m a carboholic, so I thought this would be impossible for me … it’s not. First thing to do is just pay more attention to how many carbs you’re eating, because they’re sneaky 🙂

  3. TracyKM says:

    A while ago I had noticed a friend’s posts on your wall, so I wondered who/what you were and looked at your FB page. I don’t know you, but thought about what you were going through often–even though I didn’t know everything. I just say on her page today that your husband has passed away, and there was a link to your blog, so I hope you don’t mind that I came to visit, and started scrolling down 🙂
    I have been doing low carb since the fall. I didn’t do the “Induction” type beginning, just started making changes. I had been eating the “Healthy” carbs, according to Health Canada. But, turns out, I”m probably insulin resistant and have metabolic disorder. Since doing this, my blood pressure went down and I”m off meds, after 14 years. Even though I’m less (exercise) active and weaigh more than I did when I was diagnosed with hypertension. I enjoy a high fat, low carb lifestyle, and I love to eat!
    I highly recommend “Wheat Belly” by Dr William Davis and
    “Living Low Carb”/”Living the Low Carb Life” by Jonny Bowden, and “Why We Get Fat” by Gary Taubes. They are all excellent books. You don’t have to follow any “plan”. Just eliminate wheat, simple carbs, starachy veggjies, and sugary fruits (berries are usually okay). It really does work. Being fat is not about eating fat. At all. It’s not about “calories in vs calories out”. It’s life changing to read those books. I know your life has greatly changed right now, so don’t look at this as another burden, look at it as liberating your health 🙂

Leave a Reply

