The Importance of Routine

My life is chaos.

There’s no sense of order, of consistency, of routine.

It’s all understandable.  There’s a part of my life that sucks big donkey balls.

But I’d like to create a sense of order, a bit of routine in my life.

I find, for me, I’m happiest when I have a routine.    I like to pretend that flying by the seat of my pants is my favourite way to live, but really – I’m structure driven.

I like to have a plan.  It doesn’t matter WHAT the plan is – I want to know what the plan is and if we have to adjust the plan, that’s ok, because then we have a new plan.

For a very long time, my routine was not conducive to losing weight, getting or staying healthy, or even connecting with my family.   I was an observer of my life, someone who sat in the corner watching everyone else run around and do what they needed to do.

I was spoiled.  I may have mentioned it before, but it’s true.

The love of my life liked to make me breakfast, make sure my lunch was ready and bring me my coffee.  It was his “job” to run the household so the kids were his domain.

When he got sick, and I finally came home again, I had to change my routine.

Experts say that if you want to change a routine and make it stick, you should change one habit at a time.

I didn’t have that option.    Suddenly, I am not working, the heart of our family is gone and I have to relearn how to run a household, take care of kids and keep myself sane.   I’ve done it before – I was a single parent for 8 years.

Now, I am a “single” parent, dealing with my husband’s serious illness, dealing with kids who trying to adjust to Dad not being there AND Dad being very sick, trying to deal with my own mental illness, and trying to get healthy, fit and pass my skills tests.

And find a new routine.

I am the queen of procrastination.  “Never do today what you can put off until tomorrow”

What happens if tomorrow doesn’t come?

There will be a lot of undone stuff in my life.

I now realize how important routine is.  I always did, sort of, but really didn’t worry about it much.

With routine, I know that I can get up and do my yoga in the morning.  I know that the kids will have their morning stuff done and be ready for school at an appropriate time.  I know that dinner will be in the crock pot or planned for the evening.

With routine, I’m free to blog without guilt, because I know that laundry is in the machine, dishes are in the dishwasher and the boys’ computer time starts in 4 minutes.    They know when they get computer time, I know when I have to stop and there’s no interruptions.

With routine, it allows for more sponteneity because we’ve done what needs to be done, now we can look at what we want to do.

With routine, I can go on autopilot if needed and not worry about what’s not getting done, because there’s already a system in place for life to carry on.

This morning, I got up, turned on the coffee that was set up last night, did my yoga, woke the boys and made breakfast.   The boys were told they could have computer time if they had THEIR morning routine done (written and on the fridge) and I could let them go for it.  They’re old enough to get their stuff done.

My morning feels good.   All because of routine.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Depression, Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Importance of Routine

  1. And then the you know what hits the fan and it all goes out the window for a nano-second…but it comes back because habits such as good routine always come before chaos..or they take precedence and are worked back into our lives…being orderly, in a routine helps us stay focused and ready to take on challenges when they are presented..

  2. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    I love my routines – even what I eat for breakfast has a routine. But…when I’m out of routine, I’m in deep trouble. Good for you. You will lose it sometimes, but it’s always easier to get back into it! Take good care!

Leave a Reply

