The Blissology Project

I have Ginger Van Detta to thank for my introduction to The Blissology Project.  It’s a 6 dvd set of 12 yoga routines, plus mediations.

I had forgotten how much I enjoy yoga.  I had forgotten how GOOD I feel after I do it.  I had forgotten.

It’s easy, when your life is chaotic and stressful and sad to forget the good stuff.  It’s easy to fall into the trap of “it’s never going to get better”

There are things that can make it better.

Medications.  There are a LOT of prescription medications your doctor can prescribe for you. Mine works very well for keeping me level.  The problem I have is remembering to take them on a regular basis.  This leads to a lot of emotional swings.   It leads to me not being able to handle the stress in my life very well.

Drugs and alcohol.  These will certainly make you feel better in the very short term, but they will end up costing a lot in the long term.  No one can sustain the level of drinking that is needed to numb out forever… Eventually something crashes.  Usually your life or health.  Then you need to clean up a mess.

Exercise.  Exercise induces endorphines.  Like this blogger, with a little work and commitment, you too can enjoy endorphines.   They are addictive little suckers.

Yoga.  Yoga deserves its own catagory.  Yes it is exercise.  Yes it is sweat-inducing.  But the difference with yoga is that at the end of a yoga session – I feel calm, centred, at peace and ready to handle what my day throws at me.  I’m thinking it will be a good thing if I’m having trouble sleeping.  I’d like my boys to do it with me.

I finally made the time to do yoga.  I put everything else aside, the garden, the laundry, the mess in my bedroom & kitchen and did a quickie (30 min!) yoga workout from the Blissology dvd set I purchased a year ago.  I think I blogged about it. LOL

I did the Monday routine, even though it’s Wednesday, because of what Monday was about.   Full body and renewal.

And now I can face my day, knowing that I’m strong enough to handle whatever it throws at me.

 

PS: I didn’t get to finish this post before a friend stopped by for tea.  Side effect of lots of stress plus yoga…. I’m now super sleepy and contemplating a nap :p

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Health, Meditation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Blissology Project

  1. peonut says:

    Sounds like you’re onto a good thing here, keep us posted on how it goes!

    (and thanks for the link 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

