STAIRS!! (redux)

Remember the hospital stairs?

Something like 323 of them from the 1st floor to the 16th floor?

Ok, I’m not doing 323 these days.   But since hubby HAS been transferred out of ICU (yep, let me say that again – he’s been TRANSFERRED out of ICU!! WOOT!!) he’s back on the 9th floor.

This means I have from 1st floor to the 9th floor (works out to be 9 flights with the maintenance levels in between) to walk up every day I visit him.

Today, I did from the 2nd floor up after lunch with my friend Kathy.

I didn’t stop.

Go ahead.  Re-read that.   Let it sink in for a minute.  I’ll tell you what it means for me after.

Got it?  I didn’t stop.

That means, that I walked from the 2nd floor to the 9th floor WITH.OUT.STOPPING.

Normally I stop after every 3rd or 4th floor.  Catch my breath.  Let my heart rate slow down.  That sort of thing.

Today, I did it WITHOUT STOPPING!!

WOOT!

Slow and steady wins the race.  And the race is my health 🙂  (and my derby skillz 🙂 )

Stairs are a beautiful thing.  Maybe I can be running up them by the time he comes home… 🙂

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to STAIRS!! (redux)

  1. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    Good for you! Walk well!

Leave a Reply

