Core Exercises

I’ve posted about this before, the unintended core exercises.  I’ve posted about how I’ll be doing something with no intention of *exercising* or *working out* and find that I’m sore all over.

Today’s random exercise-that-is-not-an-exercise:

Moving dirt.

Seems simple enough.  Take the 3 cubic yards of dirt that was dumped on my driveway (front right corner of my yard) and move it to my garden (back left corner of my yard).

My yard is big.  I basically had to walk around my 2400 square ft house from the front corner to the opposite back corner.

Carrying buckets of dirt.

Over.  And over.  Until my neighbor took pity on me and loaned me his wheelbarrow (note to self:  ask for a wheelbarrow for Christmas, my birthday or Mother’s Day.  Although our wedding anniversary is coming up next – perhaps for then)

Then I did another 10 loads of dirt.  At least.

I ended up moving 2 cubic yards of dirt.

I hurt.  All over.  I hurt so much that at 11.30pm, I’m not sure I could handle a shower.

My back, my hips, my quads all got a REALLY good workout today.

OH! And I have my greenhouse finished and the garden almost filled with dirt 🙂  WOOT!

It was a good day for exercise.  I’m going to crawl into bed now and hope I wake up less sore… :p

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

