Having Fun

One thing that often gets forgotten when pushing towards a goal, is how to have fun with whatever the goal is.

We can get so goal oriented, so focused on the prize, that we forget why we started in the first place.

Somewhere along the way we lost the sense of fun.

This has been happening for me in roller derby.  I’m so focused on the goal of *passing the skillz test* that I forgot that skating is FUN.

Yes, there’s a great feeling as I master skills.  Yes, its fantastic that I’ve stuck with the goal this long under really crappy circumstances.

But skating is FUN.

There was a public skate last night.  Open arena, music, 4 adults and 3 kids.  Skating.

I skated with my boys.  I skated with a couple teammates.  I skated with a friend.  I practiced skills.  I pushed myself for 5 minutes. I cruised along.  I stopped for water, stopped for chatter and then skated again.

I’m reminded of the scene in the Cutting Edge (I can’t find a clip to it, if I do, I’ll post it) where D.B. Sweeny is telling Moira Kelly how someone took a picture of him smelling the ice.  How he loves the ice, loves skating.

Moira Kelly’s character is so focused on the goal of gold medal that she forgets to enjoy the experience.

I’d forgotten to enjoy the experience of skating.  I’d forgotten to enjoy the feeling of stretching my body, pushing my limits with no goal in sight other than *have fun*

I forget about that in a lot of different areas of my life.  I get so focused on the destination that I forget to enjoy the journey.

Last night was fun.  I enjoyed the experience of skating with my boys and friends.  It reminded me of when I was a kid, and we’d go to the public skate and just skate for hours.  It was fun.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

