323 Stairs and a 40 min walk

Today promised to be a “no-exercise” day.

I got up early but sat on my puter.  I expected to be leaving early, but ended up watching an amazing video (in case you missed it from this morning’s post, feel free to catch it HERE) and posting something quick and with a sick child (again!!!) my morning was more of the “clean and disinfect” kind rather than the “bend and stretch” kind.

So I sorta resigned myself to a day where yet again, I hadn’t done any exercise. BLAH.  Epic FAIL.

Kathy comes to VGH with me every Monday to visit with my hubby.  We usually go for lunch somewhere, and she encourages me to do the stairs (323 stairs from the 2nd floor to the 16th!) and we basically chat and hang out at my husband’s bedside.  Sometimes he participates, sometimes, like today, he sleeps.

Today we left at rounds to grab lunch.  There’s this great little buffet style place across the street called the Salad Loop.  Good salads.  Build your own.  Love it.

We had lunch.  Apparently my plate of green stuff was too much, I was FULL.

We walked back over to the hospital, then headed up the 2 flights to the ICU level, and instead of going in to see Mark, we kept going.

I don’t exercise well on a full stomach.  Stairs are my nemesis.  Not a good combination.

I climbed all 323 stairs.  Stopped WAY more than I wanted to.  But I kept going.

My poor tummy.

I figured that was it for my exercising today.

Tonight, I finish my dinner, and my friend Leanne messages me.   I ask her if she’s walked tonight. (WTF was I thinking?)  She had posted a facebook status the other day about jogging and something along the lines of “if I can do it anyone can”

She hadn’t, and wasn’t sure if she was going to.  I said that I wanted to walk but had just eaten and needed digesting time.

She said to message her in 15 minutes.

15 minutes later, I’m grabbing the dogs, and heading out for a walk with her.

We don’t walk slow, either of us.  This is not a leisurely stroll.  At one point, she’s jogging alongside me while I speedwalk.

Remember me and full tummy’s and exercising?  Yeah.  That again.

I still did it.  Cramps in my belly, hips screaming at me, and I did it.   We get to the last section of our walk and I’m like “Ok lets RUN”  And we did.  I ran on purpose for a good 30 seconds.   That isn’t a lot for those of you out there, but for me, that’s a friggen marathon.

I want to be able to run.  I want to be one of those people who go for a run to destress at the end of the day.   I want to be one of those people who can do things like this and not feel like an idiot for signing up.

I want to run a 5k.  I want to run a 10k.  I want to raise enough money to run in one of these marathons.

So I ran with Leanne for a few seconds.   Next time, I’ll run a little longer.  Push a little harder.  Go a little farther.

But my “no exercise” day ended up with about an hour of exercise overall.

Time to put boys to bed, and do the dishes, then focus on me for a while… 🙂

Thank you to Kathy and Leanne today, for giving me that little bit extra push to go further than I would have on my own…

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

