Day 3 – Postponed

Day 3 was yesterday – but as in previous  challenges, they don’t upload the days’ workout until late afternoon, and I work out early morning.

But a rundown on my day 3 anyhow – since I DID exercise, although I didn’t do all that I wanted.

I started off my morning with some stretching and the flow workout they had posted the day before (I’m still not convinced that the 1 minute of exercise is *it* but meh).

Headed to the hospital…

When it was time for rounds (they kick me out during rounds) I did the stairs.  VGH has 16 levels, although its more like 15 flights.  Total of 323 stairs.   It takes me about 15 minutes to do the stairs up and down, but my heart pounds out of my chest and I’ve got a serious sweat going on by the time I’m done.

I expected my afternoon to go as usual…. leave for home around 3.30 or 4pm, make dinner for my kids, go to roller derby practice.  This was a practice I REALLY didn’t want to miss – there was a special “passing of the torch” ceremony I wanted to be a part of.

However – my husband had cardiac issues.  It resulted in having 2 more stents placed to prevent a heart attack.  And he had an imminent heart attack waiting to happen.  90% blockage on one artery, 80% on another.   Scary stuff.  Good reasons to keep your heart healthy.  Eat greens, less saturated fat; you know, all that good stuff that doctors tell us.

Go get your heart checked.  It could save your life.

I missed practice.  I wanted to go, but I am that person that in a crisis, I’m solid.  I’m in control.  I’m holding it together.

After the crisis is over, however… I’m a blubbering mess.  I fall apart for a while.  And I didn’t want to be the big sad derby girl at practice, bringing down everyone else’s awesome time.

I’m sorry team.  I didn’t want to miss that, but I thought bringing my tears would distract from the awesomeness that was planned.

Today sometime I’ll do the day 3 workout.  I slept in (emotional hangover) and its now almost 8am, time to get boys off to school, get dressed, and head into the city again.

Seriously.  Go to the doctor and have your heart function checked.  Make an appointment today.   It could save your life.

Derby love to my outgoing captain/co-captain and to the incoming captain/co-captain.   I’ve learned a lot from you and I’m excited for the upcoming year.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in BodyRock.tv, Exercise, Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

