Derby rocked tonight

I mean, the floor was slippery, I felt like I was an idiot on skates, my feet and shins hurt like a mo-fo for most of the practice, but OMG I loved practice tonight.

I’ve noticed something about myself.  No matter where we practice, the first hour is a struggle, then the next hour is awesome.  And I’m usually sad when the practice is over.  I’m looking forward to our 3 hour practices.

My weight is up, and not being on skates for so long, I could feel it.  I wasn’t as bouncy on my feet, my crossovers were pathetic, and I’m going to blame it all on the floor (it was really that slippery)

I’m at a cross roads in my head.  I’ve been talking exercise, I’ve been talking fitness, I’ve been talking exercise, I’ve been talking routine, and I haven’t done it.

Let’s ignore the last 3 months for a moment.

Aside from that – actually, now that I think of it, I was doing fairly well.  Scratch that.  Different line of thinking now… :p

I need the routine.  I need to exercise.  I need need need to find some calm in the chaos that is my life.

Tomorrow, I will spend some time while hubby is sleeping devising a plan.  A plan that allows me to workout, eat healthy, and have a good routine with my boys and me.  Incorporate fitness and fun exercise (swimming? bike riding? hikes?) into our lives so that we are doing this together instead of it just being “me”

I know that when I’m doing what I’m supposed to – I feel REALLY REALLY good… and derby tonight showed me how good I COULD feel – even when my poor feet are causing me to limp off the track.  Derby does for my mood as much as it does for my body.  I love how I feel, physically and emotionally.

I’m glad I didn’t talk myself out of derby tonight.  Its been too easy to do lately…

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Depression, Exercise, Fitness, Roller Derby, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

