Fitness Isn’t Just “Exercise”

Today, I’ve had a fairly active day, despite my insistence that I was going to do *nothing.*

This morning, all laundry that was dry got folded, and more laundry got washed & hung to dry (trying to save money here… must. hang. laundry)

Went to an appointment.

Came home, expecting to have tea with a friend, but she motivated me to finish composting my rotting veggies.   After that was done, and dirt mixed into the compost (mmmm veggie nutrients for my garden) we did sit and have a tea.

While we were enjoying tea, another friend stopped by.   After the first friend left, and the 2nd friend and I were done tea, she got me motivated to clean off my deck.  She probably actually did about 2/3 of it, but it got me moving.   My deck is nice and tidy, just need to spend a sunny day washing it.   But there’s now a designated socializing area and a planting area.

After my friend left, I went down to the garden.  I don’t really know what I was thinking, but next thing I know, I’m sweating, and its an hour and a half later.  2/3 of my garden has the major weeds pulled and the dirt is starting to be leveled out.  I will still need a LOT of dirt, but it doesn’t look like someone started a project and abandoned it.

This summer I want a greenhouse as well.  I have to talk to my friend’s husband about that – because I’m going to ask him to build it for me :p   But I want one – I want to have hot house tomatoes and peppers and other yummy veggies.

This is my garden last year:

You can see corn and peas and broccoli and cauliflower and beans and I’m planting tomatoes.

This year will be bigger and better.

There’s something quite zen about gardening… I didn’t even notice the passage of time while I slowly worked up a sweat.

According to a number of sites, I probably burned about 200 calories per 1/2 hour.   I don’t really care.  While I was getting *exercise* I was really just zoning out and getting some personal time and getting something done.

Fitness isn’t about running a marathon – its also about doing active things and being present in life.  Today, for the first time in about 11 weeks, I wasn’t thinking about hospitals or surgeries or possibilities or what may come.  I was thinking about the weeds in my garden and how to get those tough suckers out of there.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Gardening, Health, Meditation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

