Just Keep Swimming…

I’m freaking pumped from tonight’s practice.  I know I have work to do, but tonight… I pushed and pushed HARD to do things I would normally give up on.

Thanks to one fabulous Em Appeal, I skated until everyone else stopped.  She encouraged me, kept me going.  The best part… when I thanked her after – she told me she didn’t really slow down much – and I kept UP with her!!! WOOT!!!

I am incredibly grateful – following her made it easier to keep going despite my legs and back burning and screaming for me to stop.

There’s a Facebook group I belong to called Derby Dish.  Someone posted asking how to get the 25 in 5 done.  How to build that endurance to pass that part of the test.

Someone answered with this: The only two things I think when doing my laps, is 1 – “YOU CAN DO IT!” and 2 – “Move my feet, move my feet, move my feet”. The second one is very nice to say with each stride. Yep, I brain wash myself.

So while I was following Em’s green shorts (really the only thing I was looking at while I was skating) I used a mantra to keep going….

Have you seen Finding Nemo? Imagine skating while this is going through your head over and over… only replace SWIMMING, with SKATING…

“Just keep skating, just keep skating, just keep skating, just keep skating skating skating skating…”

I just kept skating.  Using Em’s green shorts as my focus.  And I finished.

VICTORY!!

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Keep Swimming…

  1. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    I think I should have read this before I went to the gym. The truth is – the gym has become kind of boring lately. I go there, read what I’m reading and then it’s just endurance to get it done.

Leave a Reply

