The Plan

Yeah, I know, I was supposed to have a plan.

I was supposed to post that plan…

And then things got stressful with my husband.

I wrote an essay once about my experiences with my husband’s heart attacks.   I titled that “Life is What Happens When You’re Busy Making Plans”

I keep trying to PLAN my life and something keeps happening.

He needs a test.  He needs a procedure.  They want to do something else.   There’s another problem for them to fix.

When your spouse is critically ill, all plans end.   Its a matter of going with the flow and trying to manage the best you can.  Or at least the best I can.

If you want to know the details of what’s going on, you can read them here.

For now, my focus is on what’s going well.  Even if I can’t find a routine, or a new normal or a groove in my life, there are things that are going well.

This week?  I’m down to 261.5.  That’s almost 15 lbs less than I was when he first got sick.  Not the greatest diet in the world, but its working for the moment.  That’s an awesome thing.

I’m eating less.  Not on purpose, but I’m doing less “mindless” eating.  I’m hoping that stays a habit after the stress is all done.

I went for a 45 minute walk the other night.  I need to do that every day.  I felt good after.

I’m eating healthier, for the most part.   Last night’s dinner was homemade beef dip and salad.  I’m drinking more water. I’m choosing healthier snacks like fruit and yogurt.

My sleep habits are somewhat better.  With the exception of not being able to sleep because I’m waiting to hear about a surgery, I’m in bed earlier, and sleeping until my alarm clock goes off.

These are the good things.

So my general plan is to continue to choose water over pop or juice, choose salad over fries and to plan healthier dinners.

Beyond that, I have to get the rest of my life into a new groove before I can put any plans in place and hope they stick.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Health, Weight Loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Plan

  1. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    And what is wrong with that plan? I don’t have problems with juice/pop or fries. But I do have problems with too many fruits and not enough veggies. I’m willing to give your plan a try!
    Have a good day.
    M

Leave a Reply

