Choices

I want to say I’m ok with a slow entry into playing derby.  I really do.  I want to say that I’m good with being a “part of” but not actually playing.

I will make myself be ok with that until I’m at a level that I can pass all my skills testing.  What I’m missing is mostly endurance.

25 in 5
Pacing Line
Crossovers
Agility – hops & such
Hip checks

I’m probably missing other things but those are the standouts for me.

So tonight, when the team was scrimmaging, I was the only player there who was not skills tested and I couldn’t participate.

Prior to tonight… I would have pouted, possibly left practice.

Instead I decided to work on endurance.   I might not be able to skate 25 in 5, but I’d like to be able to consistently skate 5 minutes.  And when I can skate 5 minutes consistently, I’ll increase the speed.   I’m averaging about 20 laps in 5 minutes, so I need to shave 2 seconds a lap off my time to make it.

Its doable.

In the 1/2 hour they drilled and scrimmaged, I did 4 sets of skating 5 minutes.

And I will do it every. single. time.

I don’t like feeling like I’m on the outside.  I want the OPTION, even if my life doesn’t allow it, to scrimmage and bout.   I want the choice.

I’m going to give myself that choice.

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health, Roller Derby, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choices

  1. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    Choices lead to other choices don’t they? If I choose to eat stupid, which I do more often than I’d like, I eliminate choices – particularly in the things I want to do and the clothes I want to wear. And the way I want to look. I think that as your body mass decreases, your speed will increase. Keep it up!
    M

Leave a Reply

