Day 4 – Refocused

Today was a shitty, crappy, awful day.

I still skated.

I didn’t get home from the hospital until 9pm but I went to practice and I skated 4 or 5 laps.  I had fun.  I showed up.

While at derby I had a conversation that will change my derby focus for this season.

Rather than focusing on passing skillz testing and getting on the team – I’m looking at focusing on NSO – Non-Skating Official.

If you don’t know much about derby – there’s about 10-15 NSO’s at each bout (I’m not really sure of the total number).   NSO’s and volunteers are vital to each bout/scrimmage.

Part of me is really really unhappy about this… I set a goal and it feels like failure.

The other part of me, the bigger part of me, says “YES!  Relief! I don’t have to stress about HAVING to be at derby”

In essence, the attendance requirements will not apply to me. (At least that’s how I understand it)

This will give me the opportunity to put my life back together, to focus on my family, but get my derby on.

Did I mention I love derby and I love my team???

Today was a good day for re-focusing.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 4 – Refocused

  1. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    Being an NSO doesn’t close the door on being on the team. It just gives you more time to get ready to be on the team. I don’t think I would consider derby team, but I might consider that – thanks for letting me know of this option. I’m just chuckling thinking about my daughter and grandma coming to see me! You’ve given me something to think about!
    M

    • sunnyjane says:

      That’s what we were thinking too. It allows me the time to get my skills up and I don’t have to worry about letting anyone down if I suddenly have to bail because of my current crisis.

Leave a Reply

