Day 1 of Re-focus

Yesterday was my first day of changing my focus and how I see life.

I’m not going to tell you what I didn’t do – that doesn’t matter.  I can’t change what I did or did not do – that was yesterday.

What I did was buy myself pants.

Sounds odd, I know… How on earth does that contribute to my overall health and fitness??

Well… remember all those posts about how I was not worth it?  How I was not good enough?

I don’t buy myself clothes.   If I’m forced to, because none of my friends are passing on second hand stuff, I don’t buy myself clothes that cost more than $5 or $10 a piece.  I just don’t. My rationale is that everyone else comes first.

Everyone has always come first. Even when I’m down to 6 pair of stretchy yoga type pants – 3 that have holes, one that looks good and 2 that make me feel awful about myself when I wear them – I think I can “make do” with what I have.

So yesterday, I put myself first and bought myself 2 pair of pants.   They’re cute, they fit, they’re comfy, and I like them.

I deserve new pants.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Health, Self-esteem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 1 of Re-focus

  1. Adriana says:

    Love this!

  2. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    This week the Jewish community is celebrating Purim and the story of Esther. This story in the Bible is about a lot of other things. But right now it reminds me that I NEED to take care of myself – my body, my mind and my clothing. God gives Esther a time of “pampering” and self care – and in a way He reminds me that I need to give myself that – including a new winter coat for next year! Enjoy the new pants and make sure you get rid of the ratty ones!
    M

  3. Sharon says:

    Yes, get rid of the ratty ones!!! I don’t care how many painting projects you have planned that they would be good for, THROW THEM OUT!

    Buying clothes that fit and look good (aka: no stretchy pants and no tapered legs, you know the ones that make my ankles look great, but my but look 2 miles wide instead of only one) does wonders for my self esteem and self image. Too bad it doesn’t help me lose weight, but it does make me more outgoing and confident about me.

Leave a Reply

