Derby Practice Last Night

I was thinking about it… aside from a short time with my kids at Central City, and the birthday skate in January, its been 2 months since I had truly been on skates.

2 months.

2 freaking months.

Guess what?   Muscles hurt.  ESPECIALLY on a floor that feels like an ice rink… :S

I couldn’t keep up with the team last night, but not because I couldn’t keep up – because I couldn’t keep under control while skating faster – my wheels just didn’t have enough grip, even when I swapped out for grippier ones.  I didn’t, however, feel like I was pushing myself hard enough.  I felt like I could have pushed harder… I felt liked I could have worked harder…

So I slid.  But I skated, and I continued to skate, and I had a LOT of fun.  It was EXACTLY what I needed.

It killed the panick attack that had me in its grips.

On another derby note – I signed up for a boot camp in May.  I probably don’t have any holidays left after this, but I’ll swap out a Saturday for the Friday part of the boot camp.

I’m so freaking stoked!

Now if I could get this stupid insomnia under control….

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

