Derby Love and Skating Clockwise…

Lets start with Derby Love (I’ll probably end with it too LOL)

One of my teammates recently lost her dad.  The memorial for her dad happened to be on her birthday.

Derby love took over.   Someone got the idea to have a party for her – a birthday skate.  It took a few emails, some organizing, some volunteering, and voila!  We had an awesome party planned.

Its hard to explain how awesome our derby family is.  How amazing these women are.   There were cupcakes, some amazing bubbly wine, spinach dip and  noise makers.   She walked in and got a huge “Happy Birthday” from everyone.

A year ago, she had requested that we do the entire practice backwards – skating the opposite direction.

So tonight, we did.

Free skate, pacing lines, follow the douchebag, scrimmaging, all in the “wrong” direction.

Lets stop for a minute and go back 2 or 3 posts.  You know, the one where I reminded everyone I hadn’t been on skates for 4 weeks or so?

Free skating in the right direction on Sunday was nothing, no comparison to ACTUAL PRACTICE in the wrong direction.

I can’t do crossovers backwards.

My muscles aren’t used to those movements.

Holy fucking hell I hurt all over.  By the end of practice, my body from my waist down was one freaking rock of knotted muscles… This morning I STILL hurt.

I felt like I had when I skated for the first time.   I stopped lots.  I took breathers.  I pushed myself.  I hurt.  I loved every friggen minute of it.

We scrimmaged.   My spot is the inside line.  Its my spot.  The inside line is my bitch.  (My awesome teammates got me a t-shirt with that on it.  I fucking LOVE it!!)   The inside line uses different muscles when its on my right side not my left.

I didn’t hold that line nearly as much as I did on Sunday – but I still love that spot.

I branched out a bit – tried to pivot, tried the middle, I even tried being the jammer.

After fighting to make it through the pack and *not* succeeding (although it was fun)  I have now have a newfound respect for the jammers.   I still like the inside line…. but at some point I’d like to jam and do it well.   (back to endurance LOL)

I’d love to skate clockwise more often.  It was a great balancing workout.  Holy fucking hell do I hurt though.

The team sang happy birthday to us birthday girls… Hers was Sunday, mine was Monday.

I love my team.  I love derby.  If I haven’t said it before, thank you to Mala Justed for bringing derby to Squamish.

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Derby Love and Skating Clockwise…

  1. Maux Faux says:

    How’s your back? My back tends to seize up when we practice in the wrong direction.

Leave a Reply

