Inspiration…

Someone told me yesterday that my blogs are inspirational.   I don’t have a lot of “followers” although I do have a lot of readers through facebook.  But its nice to know that what I write resonates with other people.

Another person suggested that I write about what makes me feel good, give voice and life to things positive rather than to the cruddy feelings and perpetuating the them.

I don’t write to be inspirational, I write to give voice to my struggle.  It IS a struggle.   I have the best of intentions…

For instance, this morning.  Well, really, it has to start at last night.  I have a recurring cough at night. It wakes me, keeps me awake and generally messes with my sleep.  I’m not sleeping well at all which is very unusual for me.  I haven’t since New Years.  Its been 2 weeks of not-great sleep.  2 weeks of dragging my ass tiredness.   This cough wakes me 2 – 3 times a night.  Every night.

So last night I fall asleep, with high hopes that the cough won’t come back.   At 11.30pm, my hopes are dashed.  Coughing, trying to drink water, sucking on a Halls to coat my throat (which you KNOW is bad for my teeth) and keeping hubby awake.

Finally, decide for the first time in 2 weeks that I’m going to sleep on the recliner.  Doctor figures if I’m sleeping in a semi-upright position, the cough won’t be so bad.   So I get myself settled on the recliner with my water and book and Halls (book in case it really wakes me and I can’t sleep at all).

The doctor is wrong.  Not entirely wrong, but the Cough woke me again after I fell asleep on the couch.

Hubby woke me at 6am.  He is going to help, going to push me, no excuses, no whining about being tired.  Get me working out on a regular basis until its habit, and I just get up and do it.

I go to the computer to pull up the workout of the day.

I usually access it from facebook.   A friend messages me about something REALLY stressful going on in her life.   So of course, I’m going to listen.  I’m going to let her talk.   An hour goes by.

Its now 7am, and there’s no time to work out, shower, get ready for work and get out of here on time.  Dammit.

I wouldn’t/couldn’t begrudge her the time to talk – that’s what friends are for and that’s part of who I am.

But I missed my workout.

Now it leaves me with 2 choices.

1. Skip the workout entirely because I have issues with working out in front of my family.
2. Do the workout later.

I know I will be able to come up with all sorts of “excuses” why I can’t work out later… kids need this, friend shows up, my show is on, the hot tub is calling.

I need excuses/inspiration why I SHOULD work out.  Something that will make me overcome my almost obsessive aversion to working out in front of the kids.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far, and please, please, add some in comments if you want:

1. I feel good when I work out
2. I’m down 5lbs already from working out and watching what I eat since January 3.
3. I’m stronger when I work out
4. I’m more flexible when I work out.
5. I hurt less when I work out.

So my dear readers, both those who’ve subscribed and those who find me through facebook… I need inspiration.  Tell me, what reasons, what excuses can YOU give me to help me overcome this aversion to working out in front of others?

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Self-esteem, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration…

  1. Wade says:

    The only way to overcome this “fear” or uncomfortability is to just do it…work out in front of them, get embarrassed. It will become easier each time and soon it won’t bother you at all.

  2. Well, the problem is that most larger people don’t like to workout in front of others because there are no fat people in pictures of people working out. Who wants to show off their wiggly parts.

    Now, for the inspiration x2.

    1)I did the fit test for day 1 of the 30 day challenge and our scores were almost identical so even though I’m almost at my goal weight, we are almost at the same fitness level!!! Yeah!

    2)Working out in front of your children will show them that it’s okay to workout in front of others at any weight. They will join you and learn to enjoy working out too which in turn will save them from weight and health issues when they are older.

    So, instead of being embarrassed about doing it in front of them say “I’m doing this with them to be a good example!”

Leave a Reply

