Life is what happens…

I started this blog almost a year ago.   My brother in law invited me to join Loseit.com and I started my journey.

I started this because I wanted to be accountable to my friends and whomever else was reading this for my journey to health and fitness.

Its easy to stay in a rut.  Its easy to just keep on keeping on.

And if you change nothing, well, then… nothing changes.

Two years ago, I took a 100 day challenge.   During that time, my husband had 2 heart attacks.  It took us a long time to get settled into a routine again – shortly after that I lost my job, then I took on too much education, then… and then I started my blog.

2011 was supposed to be my drama free, relaxed year, but it was anything but. Can I hope for 2012?   No major health issues… no job issues… no kid issues… ? Just make some positive changes in our lives, we both get healthy, set good examples for our kids and finally drop the weight that’s weighing us down.

Tonight, I sleep alone.  2 years after the initial heart attack – he had some heart issues.   The doctor says he’s going to be fine – but because of his history, they’re keeping him overnight just to be sure.

The hardest part of that is walking away.  I have kids to care for, and a full, planned day tomorrow… even though I’m going to have to re-arrange a lot of it… I’m still going to have to make some of it work.  So I had to leave him there.

I don’t sleep when he’s in the hospital.   Apparently this time I’m opting for the cookies and milk solution instead of  the 2 bottles of wine and an anti-anxiety pill or two that got me through the heart attack.

If you’re reading this – get healthy.  Go see your doctor, get a baseline and find out what you need to do to improve your health.   My appointment is December 29 (I had already booked this) and my 2012 will be focused on getting myself fit and healthy.

Its not just about looking awesome in the booty shorts.  Its about being around  to see my grandkids and great-grandkids grow up.

Although it doesn’t hurt to look awesome in booty shorts.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is what happens…

  1. shortshoestring says:

    Thank you for a timely but painful reminder that our health is our best asset – and worth protecting. I have to say that after a year of going to the gym I am feeling much stronger. I wish the weight would come off faster than it has, but some has and that’s important too. Keep on doing what you do, and sharing it with the rest of the world – it will inspire someone!
    Have a good one!

  2. Pingback: Two Years Ago…. | Walking a Different Path

Leave a Reply

