Roller Derby World Cup

WOOT!  Canada came in 2nd in the inaugural Roller Derby World cup!!

It was amazing to watch.  Those women are amazingly agile, skilled on skates and FAST.

I watched for 2 reasons…

1 – support my country.  We came in second and it was amazing to watch LuluDemon of Vancouver score the first points in the finals against USA.  Even better was Canada being the ONLY team of the weekend to score more than 10 points against US.

2. To watch how they skate.   If I want to get better, I need to see how the experts do it.  Watch how they skate as compared to how I skate.

I took some of what I saw and tried to put it into action last night at practice.

One of the skills I want to improve is speed control.   It doesn’t work so well on the track to be skating at full speed… then crash into someone to stop.  I need to be able to slow down and speed up and generally be in control.

I did better last night, after watching the World Cup.  I was in better control of my speed and didn’t crash into anyone 🙂

Plow stops are my friend 🙂

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

