Exercising after illness

I love BodyRock.

I love that it is ALL home based workouts.

I love that despite the equipment used, they give you a bodyweight alternative if you don’t have the equipment.

I love that you are supposed to push yourself as hard as YOU can, not as hard as the perky instructor says you should.

I love the fact that if I only do one round of a ten round workout, its ok.

I’ve been sick.  I think the last time I posted was when I was wondering…. should I skate or not?

The answer was no for Sunday, it was no for work on Monday and Tuesday, and it was no for skating last night.

Time to get back on the workout train this morning.

I did the “It will Rain Sweat” workout as my ‘get back on the train’ workout this morning.   Well, I did 1/10th of it.

I’m strong, but my lungs are kinda wimpy.  I was having a lot of trouble breathing.   I decided that 1/10th this morning and another shot at it this evening would be a good option – give my lungs another 10 hours or so to get the rest of the crap out of them.

That’s the most important part of exercising after illness.  Go at a pace your body can handle.   It doesn’t matter if you’re coming back from a cold or a flu or cancer.  Go at a pace your body can handle and DON’T FEEL GUILTY ABOUT IT!!

Its natural, when getting moving again, to want to push yourself at the level you were at before the illness.  Listen to your body.    It is the best indicator of how much you should be doing.

For me, that was 1 round of a 10 round workout (which really, is too much for me at my current fitness level – but I can work up to that) with another round or two tonight.

Its a start.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

