To skate or not to skate?

Its been two weeks since I’ve been on skates.

I REALLY want to get out there and skate – can’t build endurance if I’m at home not skating.

The debate rages in me – to skate or not to skate today?

Why the debate?   Because my throat is sore, I have no voice and my chest is congested.

I doubt I’m contagious – and if I am – everyone else in town has been exposed to the same bug.  I drive with someone who works with other people who then work with and hang out with other people – its been spread between two towns and anyone going to one of the local gas stations or mechanics.   There’s been too many points of contact for this NOT to have been spread.

So at 12.15 – derby in 3 hours – I’m sitting in my jammies wondering… should I go?

It would only be for my own recovery that I stay home.

And having been home for 2 weeks – I don’t WANT to stay home – I feel like I’m letting down the team and not getting the practice I need – but … I’m sick.

UGH.   I hate being so freaking hard on myself.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To skate or not to skate?

  1. shortshoestring says:

    Illness can be your body’s way of telling you to rest, eat lots of garlic, onions and veggies, and to gargle with salt water. Rest well.

Leave a Reply

