Not my best week…

Its been 10 days since I last blogged.  In all honesty, while I had stuff to say, it wasn’t good.

“Had a crappy sleep, ate worse”
“Didn’t exercise today (what else is new)”
“Mmmmm chips… Mmmmm pop”

So, really, what was there to write?   I do write when I’m struggling but I wasn’t *struggling* so much as I was … apathetic.

In the last 10 days I’ve exercised once (roller derby practice), eaten a lot of crap food, eaten too much incredible food, and didn’t drink much water.  OH!  And I got way less sleep than normal.

So rather than saying I fell off the wagon, lets say instead that I was conducting an experiment in how reverting to my bad habits affects me over time.

The results are in:

1.  I’m exhausted.  Can barely keep awake.  Good thing I don’t have a lot of stuff to do today – although I might potentially be in an E&O situation if I give someone wrong advice.

2. I have less cardio function.  Sounds funny putting it that way, but the reality is, explosive movements leave me breathless.  I had been moving past that with healthy eating and better exercise.

3. I’ve gained weight.  To be expected given the amount of food I consumed and the shortage of exercise I performed, but still not a happy place.

4. As a result of <3>, my bad knee hurts slightly more than usual when walking. 

5. I’m short tempered and short on patience.   When you feel as crappy as I do, its a lot of WORK to stay nice and pleasant.  Given <1>, I’m not surprised that snarky remarks come out.  What’s that saying?  “Women don’t sweat or fart or burp.  Therefore we must bitch or we will explode”   So far I haven’t exploded…. :p

Knowing what I know about my little experiment…  I now have a choice to make:

1. Continue to be apathetic and feel like a blob or
2. Revert back to healthy eating and exercise.

I think I’ll go with <2>.  It just makes sense.  After all – when I eat healthy, and exercise, I FEEL GOOD!!! 

I think I had set some goals a post or two back and those are still valid.   I don’t remember them off the top of my head and I’m just not cognizant enough to A: go back and look them up or B: WANT to go back and look them up (I’m exhausted, remember?)

So here’s my goals in a nutshell:

By January 16 (slightly less than 2 months)  I will weigh 245lbs. 

By mid-February, I will pass my basic skillz testing for roller derby, dammit!  Secondary to that is I want to weigh 239 by the time I do.

These are not unreasonable goals, people.   I can do this.  I need to stop giving myself permission to be apathetic.    I will not start *tomorrow* – tomorrow never comes.  I will start TODAY!  NOW!   Enough with the “I’ll do it later” crap – IT NEVER GETS DONE!!! (and then there’s bigger mess to deal with!!)

Hold me accountable.  Help me reach my goals. 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Fitness, Health, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not my best week…

  1. Adriana says:

    This is the last apathetic, weight gained entry folks! It’s all downhill from here! Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

