30 Days of Yoga

I’m pretty bendy for my size.   I’ve gotten more bendy since joining roller derby.

I want to be bendier.   My ultimate goal for roller derby is to be able to squat down on one foot, and coast with the other foot out straight.  On either foot.

That move requires a lot of bendy-ness.  It requires great balance.  It requires a good centre of balance.

So how to get that way?

One of my derby teammates was doing a 30 days of yoga thing.  I thought it sounded interesting.  It took me a week or so to ask what yoga she does – I don’t want to go to a class – I’d like to buy a dvd, and practice in the darkness of my living room until I’m comfortable (plus I’m cheap and yoga classes aren’t).

She recommended Eoin Finn. (Pronounced Ian.  I had to listen to one of the videos to figure that out).  His videos are sold through Lululemon and there happens to be one near where I work.   I popped in, and of course the only one of his dvd’s they have is the Blissology Project. It was a leeeetle more than I wanted to spend.

BUT!

There are 6 days of yoga.  2 different ones per day – a short one and a longer one.

So I’m getting 12 different routines for the price.   Ok, worth it if I do it every day.

Today was day 1.

Guess what?  I’m not as bendy as I thought.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Yoga

  1. hey, great blog! love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

