Little Things Make a Big Difference

First fresh meat practice was last night.  Most of the new freshies are lithe, athletic and already much much better than I feel I am.   I could be wrong about how good or not good I am, but I feel like I’m still at the beginning.

I have to remind myself that its not about being “as good as,” or “just good enough,” its about being as good as *I* can be.

Its about improving my OWN personal fitness.  Its about passing the skillz test and playing in bouts.  Its about improving my own skill set.  Its about improving ME, not about competing against other people who have an entirely different skill set and life path than I do.

As inadequate as I felt on Sunday, I focussed on what I was doing and could do.  I can mostly do crossovers – I can skate for longer than I was able to when I started – and I’m pretty darned good at t-stops (makes me wonder why I don’t use them more often)

I’m always looking to improve.   My biggest hurdle is balance and stability on the skates.   Everything I read points to having strong ankles and calves and strong back muscles.   When I do research on how to increase my strength in those areas, I find there are surprisingly simple exercises I can do.

1. Stand on one foot.

2. Bend at the knee and hips until I’m in derby stance.  Aim for a 90 degree bend.

3. Hold for 30 seconds.

Repeat on the other side.

I did that 3 times tonight.   At the end of what amounts to a 3 minute workout, my ankles are aching, my knees are aching and my back is sore.   While I was doing it, my heart was beating hard.

The little things can make a big difference.

I did, however, discover why I have such difficulty on my right side for the glide portion of the skills test.   I was REALLY wobbly on that side.

Every day, 3 minutes of 1-legged squats.  Plus 4 minutes of HIIT/tabata squats.

I wonder how that will change my world?

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

